A List of My Reading-related Pet Peeves

Not in any particular order =)

  • When a book becomes a best-seller and the next thing you know, the book gets a sucky sequel. Please don’t write a sequel for the sake of writing a sequel…
  • When I am reading, and someone comes up to me and asks me a million questions about the book. “What are you reading?” “What’s it about?” Well, I’d tell you if you would let me read it!
  • Typos in books. And I’ve noticed that it’s becoming more and more common as well. I even found some typos in my school textbook…facepalm.



  • When I read a book and my mind wanders off. By the time I know it, I have no idea what I just read so I have to go back and reread.
  • Since when are blurbs and reviews supposed to contain spoilers? Well maybe you can have spoilers in reviews but there should be some sort of warning at the beginning…
  • I refuse to read books with teeny, tiny fonts!


 

  • When a character talks non-stop about how he/she feels about his/her crush…like I think I get the point…now let’s move on.
  • People who can’t understand that some people actually read for fun…major facepalm.
  • Books that have a lot of characters, because I keep on having to go back to check who they are again.
  • Books without chapters, because I usually read chapter by chapter.

I am pretty sure I am missing some, but I think that’s all I can think of for now…what are some of your literary pet peeves? ^_^

14 responses to “A List of My Reading-related Pet Peeves

  1. Lol..I can totally relate to your reading/book pet peeves, especially #2. I hate it when people feel like they have to ask you what you’re reading when you pull a book out of your bag. I hate it when they feel it’s only polite for them to ask about it. Please…let me read in peace!!!

    Small fonts and lines scrunched together are also annoying. And in general…books written in the stream of consciousness style get on my nerves too.

  2. I agree, I hate it when books have a gazillion characters, it gets so confusing and I get fed up really quickly if it happens. If books have tons of characters they should have a character index, or a family tree! I’m facepalming right along with you! :)

  3. My worst: when you read a book, you get a set image of the characters in your mind, then along comes the movie version and the actors look nothing like how you pictured the characters to be in your head!

    My mind also wanders when I’m reading sometimes and it annoys the hell out of me! LOL :)

  4. I couldn’t agree more!!

    My pet peeve right now: I’m almost finished reading The Hunger Games, which i put off reading because I generally don’t enjoy teenybopper crazed books (was working in a bookstore when it came out and kids were kind of obnoxious about it, not as bad as they were with twilight though) so anyway I’m just picking it up now and I stupidly posted on my facebook that I had totally fallen in love with a certain character and not 5 seconds later someone commented and put “haha *said character* dies” …. just rude, and in my post i specifically said “no spoilers please”.

    People need to read for fun more often.

  5. You are so right, when you right something it should be a labor of love. Not because you want to reap more money from a fan and then lose them because your heart wasn’t into the material. I really dislike when that happens. Great post

  6. haha, “Books that have a lot of characters, because I keep on having to go back to check who they are again.” this is so me!!! this was cute post! thanks =)

  7. Deus Ex Machina – when the solution to a problem in the book comes from absolutely nowhere so that the book can have a happy ending. Definitely one of my biggest pet peeves when I’m reading a book.

    I also agree with the no spoilers part. In my reviews I try not to mention anything that happens more than 1/4 to 1/3 of the way through the book. If I do have something past that, I generally mark it as a spoiler.

    Another pet peeve is when books in a series aren’t marked anywhere with what book in the series it is. I’m reluctant to buy a book if I don’t know where the book is in the series. Why, why can’t publishers print on the cover of the book “Book #X of Whatever series?” It would make it so much easier to buy new books.

Leave a Reply

