Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Pride and Prejudiceis about a bourgeois family of five daughters, with no male heir. This means that their estate will be passed on to their cousin someday. Hence, the girls’ material survival will be dependent on finding a wealthy husband. The book begins with a rich new neighbour, Charles Bingley. He has an even richer friend named Fitzwilliam Darcy. Being both rich and unmarried, I think you can pretty much see where this is going already ^_^. This is one of those books where the title says it all. Every character’s emotional response in the novel can be explained by their pride and prejudice. Take the main characters’ first impression on each other as an example. Elizabeth Bennet, the second daughter of the family, thinks that Darcy is too proud. Darcy, on the other hand, is prejudiced against Elizabeth because she is of a lower class. The novel revolves around their slow-growing love for each other as they learn to remove their pride and prejudice, allowing them to see each other for who they really are.But never mind the plot. The thing that made me fall in love with this novel at first sight was Austen’s elegant writing style, which I am going to imitate now for the rest of this paragraph for fun. Ahem, here it goes :D: and though she found it rather against the rules of writing in the modern times, a feeling of fascination was expressed towards such a satirical style. Austen’s ability to give a dramatic scene with such full description, and her ability to shift to the next scene of importance in so quick a manner thereafter had roused a general astonishment, in which she would have had the pleasure of distinguishing herself as one of the greatest writers in the history of English literature. To what Elizabeth was wearing, and to what they had for dinner, Austen saw no necessity in these details which were of no importance, for too much was to be thought and said and felt for attention to any other objects, as Darcy had once said at the time when Elizabeth made an agreement to his proposal (lol I think I can write like this all day).

Another thing that stands out in the book is how the characters seem to be reading too. In fact, many important developments in the novel are revealed through the form of reading letters that one character gives to the other. Austen shows us that reading is not merely downloading words on a page to your brain. It is about interpreting what you have read. This is what Mary, the third daughter in the family, fails to do. Although she reads the most, she does not learn like Elizabeth because she doesn’t read between the lines. Elizabeth, on the other hand, enables herself to grow because she is capable of forming her own insights and revising it. Isn’t this what we are guilty of sometimes? So the next time you want to finish a book for the sake of finishing a book, keep in mind that you are losing a chance to feed your mind with antioxidants and a chance to provide your soul with vitamins :P.

8 responses to “Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

  1. Great review. I find it annoying when people skim through books just to say they’ve finished it; they don’t gain anything.

    • Thanks! And the same goes with a lot of things in life IMO. Like the people who remember formulas just for the sake of remembering them for a test. If you don’t understand them, then they will be of no use to you and you will not learn. ^_^

  2. I love good writing and I know Jane Austen is a great writer, but for some reason I could not get into Pride and Prejudice. I really want to though. How did you make yourself get interested in the first part of the book?

    • Hello 7cakes, Jane Austen doesn’t give a lot of descriptions on the setting or the characters making the reader not feel as involved so I understand why it’s not everybody’s cup of tea. Strangely this is what got me into P&P though. I thought it was nice to get a break from books that just go on and on about how hot a character looks for example. I liked how it was to the point. Then as soon as Elizabeth and Darcy met, it got me hooked because I am a huge fan of relationships where the main character hate each other initially (in fact I dislike most books where the main characters love each other at first sight). So I didn’t really “make” myself like it. ^_^

  3. Bravo!! A standing ovation for your rendition of Jane’s writing style!

  4. Oh, this is one of my favourite books of all time! I love Jane Austen!

  5. Good job with Austen’s style. Pride and Prejudice is my favorite Austen book, and probably on my Top 10 list of favorite books. So glad you enjoyed it too, and were able to read past the surface details.

    Sorry to have gotten to this so long after you wrote it. I’m a very helter-skelter blog reader. But I like your style. Keep up the good work!

    • That’s okay. I’m thrilled that you read this and liked it.

      For some reason I can’t correct things from my older posts (like how the first paragraph is supposed to be two paragraphs). When I save the changes, it doesn’t actually change. So I apologize if it looks like a huge block of text to you ^_^

Leave a Reply

