P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern

P.S. I Love You tells a life-affirming story about Holly, whose husband Gerry just passed away. Her life revolved around Gerry. Before she married Gerry, her life wasn’t about school or work or all that usual stuff, it was solely about going on dates with him. After she married him, her life was about being the perfect wife for him. But now that he died, she felt like there was no more purpose in life. Then came these envelopes which contained a series of letters Gerry wrote. With the help of these letters, Holly learned about moving on and living a life that had once seemed impossible to her by overcoming the challenges presented to her in each envelope.

I don’t know if anyone else does this, but I have a carry-around book besides the main book that I’m reading. I find that I spend most of my time waiting when I go outside; seems like the world loves to make people wait, so I try to take advantage of this by using the time to read. However, some books are too heavy to carry around, and some will make you lose the plot if you get interrupted every few pages or so, but this book is probably one of the best carry-around books that I’ve read. I can imagine it being a great beach read as well. You can quickly pick up the flow when you come back to it. Because of the great character developments, this book was really enjoyable as well.

It could also be one of those books for curling up on the comfy couch in a nice cozy blanket with a soft batch of cookies and a cup of steaming hot tea, while making you appreciate every little moment in your life at the same time:

“Nobody’s life is filled with perfect little moments. And if they were, they wouldn’t be perfect little moments. They would just be normal. How would you ever know happiness if you’d never experienced downs?”

This book reminded me that life is about turning curses into blessings and taking the days one at a time. Trying to achieve perfection is actually a defection in itself. Instead of setting your standard to perfection, complaining about what you don’t have, or grumbling about the people around you, have a grateful heart. You can never be sure about tomorrow, but you can be sure about this very second right now. Be thankful of what you have. Be thankful of the people around you. The saddest thing is not that your soul mate never arrived. The saddest thing is that this person has already left you. Life is a cycle of losing and gaining. So let’s have a grateful heart and appreciate every little moment in life. ^_^

10 responses to “P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern

  1. Sounds like a beautiful story. Is it your carry around one?

  2. I just saw this movie for the first time a few weeks ago and have been hunting for a hard copy of the book. What a lovely concept!

  3. I so so want to see this film, every time it comes on TV sadly I have some other engagement but this book/movie has a real message that love is eternal

    • Love the message. Another quote I liked in the book is this: “They say that nothing lasts forever, but I am a firm believer in the fact that for some, love lives on even after we’re gone.” Really great book/movie about eternal love indeed. ^_^

  4. Wow that was so weird. I log on and all my blog post pictures got enlarged to its original size. Took a long time to fix it. Sorry in advance to everyone if it happens again and you can’t read my posts…

  5. I agree.. some books are just to heavy to carry around. I’m thinking of investing in a kindle. We’ll see. But I love this book. I read it after I saw the movie. It was really endearing to read

  6. Ok I love the idea of a carry round book, I have a long commute and a heavy back makes my shoulder ache so I often elave the book I’m reading at home!

Leave a Reply

