Random: Born in the Wrong Time Period?

Just something I’ve realized recently. I feel like I am not acting quite like the people in this time period. For example:

  • I wake up at 4 to 5 am for no apparent reason
  • I almost never watch the T.V. anymore
  • I read books for fun
  • More specifically, I really like books written a long time ago (classics) and I’d choose them over contemporary works
  • I deleted my Facebook because it somehow didn’t appeal to me (why waste time on this website just talk to your friends in real life)
  • Just stuff from the past fascinates me a lot in general (i.e. when I go to the museum or something)

Anyone else feel like they are born in the wrong time period? Do you find that you should belong to the past? Or even the future?

Btw, I’m currently reading Room by Emma Donoghue. I’m at page 50-ish atm and I like it so far. Love the fact that it’s told in a fresh and unusual perspective. Will write a review on it once I’m done reading ^_^.

12 responses to “Random: Born in the Wrong Time Period?

  1. oh i definitely feel like that. i also rarely watch tv. i enjoy classical music, and while i have a facebook account, i never really saw the point of twitter. i guess you could say that i think older than my age or something. anyways thanks for posting!

  2. Thanks for commenting johnnathanielfernando. I, too, don’t see a point in Twitter. Though I can see myself eventually getting it due to peer inflences only to find out that I was right ^_^

  3. I sometimes feel exactly the same. I did a blog post about this a while back ( http://princesayasmine.wordpress.com/2011/03/27/born-into-the-wrong-century/#comment-244 ) . I’ve read room and found it an interesting read but it took me a while to get into it. At the begining I hated how childish the narrator was, the way he called all the pieces of furniture as if they were alive really annoyed me and the way he couldn’t really understand anything going on around him just showed how ignorant and innocent he was but at the same time it made me a little confused and irrated at the boy.

    • I can’t wait to finish the book because I am really curious about the ending 😀 I understand where you’re coming from. Books written in children’s perspective all have that simplistic writing style which bothers me, even though I get how 5-year-olds don’t talk like us and stuff.

  4. I totally feel like that sometimes! I think it would be fun to live in the 1800’s or early medieval times. Can’t decide which=D

  5. I, like you, do not have FB and do not watch T.V. I always thought that I belonged to the wrong time period until I watched Woody Allen’s Midnight In Paris. A fantastic movie that you should watch if you have ‘wrong era’ blues!

  6. hey I second most of the things you mentioned!
    So probably we are getting mature for these activities, or who know, we better suited to other eras!

  7. When I was in high school (in the late 80s) I always felt like I should have been a teen in the 60s. I liked their fashion better, their music better – everything. Being a teen in the 80s was just so boring. lol

  8. Very weird, but I have always felt the opposite, like I was born too soon. I feel like I should have been born in the future. It is odd to see other people feel this way though.

  9. I have pretty much always felt like I was born in the wrong time. But I just missed mine by less than 10 years. Despite the difficulties of growing up in the 70s and 80s in NYC, I always felt that I belonged to the early hip hop culture era. When De La Soul was popular and the best looking girl at the party might have had on a dashiki instead of a nearly invisible dress.

  10. Pingback: Reasons why living in the present is awesome « Econstudentlog

  11. This, I feel too. Haha. Except I have a Facebook for my relatives and friends that I talk to when I only get the chance (and the chance’s just once in a blue moon).

    And reading is fun. ;D

Leave a Reply

