If you want something done, give it to a busy person

Hi! I haven’t been making posts for more than a week now. And I’ll be honest. I didn’t read much either this week because I had a lot of schoolwork. But something interesting that I noticed is that I actually became less productive despite the fact that I “gained” more time by not reading. I started to used the time to perfect things. When I devoted a part of my life to reading, I polished things instead. Maybe perfecting does give better results than polishing, but it slows everything down. I might have been able to get the same amount of work done even if I continued to read this week. Then I remembered a quote from a book I read a while back called Getting Things Done: The Art of Stress-Free Productivity. David Allen, the author of this book, wrote that “If you don’t pay appropriate attention to what has your attention, it will take more of your attention than it deserves.”  I stopped putting my attention on reading, which resulted in putting too much attention on other things. So I guess the saying “If you want something done, give it to a busy person” is true. The more things you have to do, the more things you will get done.

Reading is not just something you do when you have the time. If you commit to reading everyday, it will teach you a lot about discipline and productivity. I just picked up “The Grapes of Wrath” from the library. Now I’ll be off to reading again. ^_^

So are you a productive person? What do you do to stay productive?

2 responses to “If you want something done, give it to a busy person

  1. When I have nothing to do, I don’t myself paying too much attention on other things. I just end up doing nothing. Then, I get busy and I wish I hadn’t wasted that time. Wish I could get it back, but life doesn’t function in that way.

Leave a Reply

